In the beginning
Later it was known as Rodehyerd or Rudierd and consisted of scattered farms, stretched from Gun Hill towards Horton.
Constructing the Dam
Thus began the fascinating story of industrial & social change within the area.
The Early Years
1849 marked the opening of the North Staffordshire Railway Churnet Valley Branch. This didn't go down too well with Fanny Bostock, who had inherited Cliffe Park Hall from her cousin (and lover!) John Haworth. She fought a 5 year long high court action and ultimately secured a permanent injuction preventing the NSR from using the lake for commercial activities.
BLACKPOOL OF THE POTTERIES
A number of boathouses began to appear, including ``The Lady of the Lake``, built for the Davenport family, silk manufacturers from Leek.
Boat hire was available on both sides of the lake. Companies operated by the Heath and Halls were fiercely competitive.
The North Staffordshire Railway would arrange all kinds of events, including tightrope walks and regattas.
Rudyard Lake Golf Club was formed in 1906 and was the first golf club in North Staffordshire.
THE WAR YEARS
We are lucky to have many accounts from the evacuees who came to Rudyard as well as photos and documents about soldiers who served in both wars. The video section has several videos about Rudyard during the war, including a short documentary called 'Recollections of Rudyard' as well as a talk by local resident, Geoff Buxton.